In My Mailbox #12

June 19, 2011 at 6:34 pm (In My Mailbox, Meme, Uncategorized) (, , , , , )

Well, it’s that time of the week again, fellow bookaholics! Yep, it’s Sunday, which means it’s time for In My Mailbox. In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi over at The Story Siren where bloggers showcase the books they received over the week.

I got quite a few books this week. A few from an Angus and Robertson that had a super amazing sale (so amazing that I bought 4 books for just $18! *swoons*) (here in Australia, A&R are owned by the same company that owns Borders, and since Borders is completely shutting down here in Aus–yep! you heard that right! *sobs*– A&R are having sales as well), and quite a few from The Book Depository, and finally, several from my library.

Bought:

Magic or Madness by Justine Larbalestier; I got this from A&R for just $5! Justine is an Aussie author, so I’m excited to read it and showcase it here.

White Time by Margo Lanagan; I’d heard many things about Margo Lanagan’s work, both good and bad–the bad is mainly how Lanagan doesn’t shy away from hard issues, which I think is a good thing–and I’m excited to read it. I got it from A&R for $5.

Black Juice by Margo Lanagan; Got it for the same reason as mentioned above. It was also $5. *squeals*

Clarity by Kim Harrington; I was fairly excited to read this book until I had heard some less than stellar reviews from people whose opinions I trusted. But when I found it in A&R for $3.50, I quickly snatched it up. I don’t care if I end up hating it, it was cheap, and that’s all that matters. 😛

The following books were obtained from The Book Depository.

The World Above by Cameron Dokey; I have to admit, I love the Once Upon a Time series. I’m going to start slowly collecting them. I hope they bring out more, because there just aren’t enough out there! 😛

Godmother: The Secret Cinderella Society by Carolyn Turgeon; The premise of this book sounds so fun! And it’s about fairy tales! I love fairytales!

Mermaid by Carolyn Turgeon; I hadn’t realised that I got two books from the same author, I only got this because it has mermaids! I love mermaids!

The Girl Who Was on Fire edited by Leah Wilson; I love The Hunger Games and I love essays on modern works.  So how could I resist this?

Kat, Incorrigible by Stephanie Burgis; I’ve been hearing such fantastic things about this book everywhere, so I knew that I would have to get it. Plus, the cover is so cute and awesome! I hope to review this soon.

Library:

Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson; Can you believe that I’ve never read a book by Anderson? I really should start now.

Betrayed by P.C. & Kristin Cast; Okay, I hated the first book, but I still found the urge to read the next book in the series. I’m a masochist.

The Sea of Trolls by Nancy Farmer; I’ve been in the mood for stories with Norse mythology in them and found this. Hopefully, it’s good.

Batman: The Dark Knight Returns by Frank Miller; I liked Frank Miller’s story-telling technique in Sin City, even though the views on women are sometimes fairly offensive. Plus, I like the Batman world (even though I hate Batman. He has no super powers therefore isn’t a real superhero, IMO).

Fables: March of the Wooden Soldiers by Bill Willingham; This is the 4th volume in the Fables series. I loved the first 3, and really can’t wait to read this one.

Fables: The Mean Seasons by Bill Willingham; I’ve been in a very graphic novel sort of mood lately. This is the 5th volume in the Fables series.

The Sandman: Brief Lives by Neil Gaiman; I love love love the Sandman series. This is the 7th volume. I really can’t wait to get into this.

So, that’s what I got in my mailbox this week. What did you get this week? Feel free to leave a link in the comments.

11 Comments

  1. Jade Walker said,

    How is it possible that you have such an awesome IMM! I want Clarity, Mermaid and Kat, Incorrigible! Hope you enjoy them all!

    My Mailbox

  2. Nikki-ann said,

    Wow, that’s a LOT of books! I hope you enjoy them all 🙂

  3. Faye said,

    Wow, that’s a lot of great books. Some I haven’t heard of so I’ll be checking them out, thank you! 🙂

    My IMM is here:
    http://faybaysbooks.blogspot.com/

  4. Mia said,

    A great mailbox! They all look great! I can’t wait to read Clarity 🙂
    Check out what’s In My Mailbox

    Mia @ Gripped into Books

  5. Alison said,

    Great set! I loved Wintergirls and Kat, Incorrigible. I really want to read Clarity.
    New Twitter follower.
    My IMM

  6. A Story Untold said,

    I loved Clarity!
    Enjoy 🙂

  7. April (Good Books & Wine) said,

    Neil Gaiman FTW!

    Graphic novels are the best!

    Happy reading ;-D

  8. Lilie said,

    Thank you for stopping by my IMM 😀 What a great IMM! I want a lot of them. I hope they’ll be good.

    Happy reading!

    Lilie

  9. Allison said,

    I enjoyed Clarity, hope you do as well! Also, I’ve heard great things about Kat, Incorrigible. It sounds really cute. Happy reading 🙂

  10. Becky said,

    Wow. great book haul!! Clarity was really good and I’ve been wanting to read Mermaid! The cover is so pretty! Enjoy your books!

  11. thereadingdate said,

    Another great stack of books! I liked Kat, incorrigible and Clarity. Hope you do too. I’m curious about The Girl Who was on Fire and look forward to hearing what you think.
    Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

