In My Mailbox #11

June 12, 2011 at 4:49 pm (Uncategorized)

Happy Sunday, fellow bookaholics! In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi over at The Story Siren where bloggers showcase the books they received over the week.

I’ve been trying to abstain from buying any books lately, and I’ve succeeded, so yay for me!

This week I got:

The Hangman’s Daughter by Oliver Potzsch; I got this from the Book Depository during the sale they had, and it’s only just arrived. Yay! I love historical novels!

Huntress by Malinda Lo; I technically didn’t buy it, my boyfriend did. Thank you, boyfriend! I’m so excited to read this. I loved Ash so much, and am expecting great things from this.

Library:

The Walking Dead by Robert Kirkman; I’ve been on a graphic novel/manga kick lately. And this has zombies! ❤ I’ll be reviewing this soon.

The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya by Nagaru Tanigawa and Gaku Tsugano; I’d heard that the anime was good, so when I saw this in my library, I snatched it up. Can’t wait to check it out. 🙂

Fruits Basket Vol 5 by Natsuki Takaya; I ❤ Fruits Basket. It’s the cutest ever! I seriously recommend that everyone check this out.

The Rose and the Beast by Francesca Lia Block; So, it’s fairly obvious by now that I ADORE fairy tale retellings, so I’m just super excited to get into this.

Wither by Lauren DeStefano; So, I’ve been hearing both good and bad things about this book, and I guess I just want to see what the hype is all about. Will be reviewing this.

The Eternal Kiss edited by Trisha Telep; I like anthologies, they’re really quick to get through. Plus, it’s awesome seeing how authors condense a story into just a few thousand words. Not really sure what to expect from this.

That’s my haul for the week. What did your mailboxes look like? Feel free to leave a link in the comments section. 🙂

8 Comments

  1. The Book Wurrm said,

    Urgh. Fruits Basket. I will forever dislike that series. The girl gets on my nerves with her goodness. If you ever get a chance, try out Kaze Hikaru. I’m curious to see what you think about Wither. Personally, I felt that it hardly deserved all the accolades it got but that’s just me. Block’s books are usually a sensory feast. Full of symbolism. Have you read her “I was a teenage fairy?” It’s a fantastic novel. I’ll look forward to your review of The Hangman’s Daughter. I haven’t heard too much about it.

  2. Cory K said,

    These seem like some great reads! Thanks for sharing. I’d love if you’d check out my IMM too 🙂

    Btw, I’m loving the blog. I’m not sure if we’re fellow followers, but I follow you!

    Looking forward to hearing back from you,
    Cory @ Anti-Drug Reads

  3. kara-karina@nocturnal book reviews said,

    The Rose and the Beast cover is gorgeous! And Wither… I’m glad you’ve got it from the library. My library is so insufficient it does’t get most of the new YAs that come out (I guess it’s budget issue). Enjoy your books!

  4. Em said,

    Loved Wither. I devoured it. I can’t wat for the sequel Fever. Hope you enjoy it too!

    Happy Reading!

    My IMM

  5. thereadingdate said,

    The only one of these I’ve read is Wither. I really liked it, but the reviews are all over the place so I’m curious to see what you will think. Huntress looks awesome. Nice choice.

    The Walking Dead show is so gross and creepy. I wonder how the book compares. There are so many zombie books out now!

    Happy reading 🙂

    • nlmars said,

      From the reviews I’ve seen of Wither, I think my main issue will be with the science. Hopefully, I’ll like it despite that. *fingers crossed*
      I’m yet to see the Walking Dead show. It doesn’t air here in Australia. 😦 I’ll probably do a review on the graphic novel! 🙂
      Thanks for commenting!

  6. Glaiza said,

    I’ve only watched the anime version of The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya (I love the Japanese voice actors in this one – they’re really funny) but I’m curious about the manga. I have the DVDs of Fruits Basket and the manga collection (although I’m missing volumes 3 and 23.) I loved that series so much as I was growing up.

    I also love the atmospheric look of Rose and the Beast *adds to the TBR.

    • nlmars said,

      I’ve been wanting to watch the anime version of Haruhi, so maybe I’ll do so once I read the manga. :3
      Fruits Basket is one of my fave anime/manga. It’s so cute! I only own the first 3 volumes, but I’ll complete my collection one day! 😛

Leave a Reply

