In My Mailbox #10

June 5, 2011 at 2:33 pm (Australian, In My Mailbox, Meme) (, , , , )

Wow, I am really bad at this whole ‘updating often’ thing. I swear I’ve been meaning to, but books got in the way.

Anywho, In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi over at The Story Siren where bloggers showcase the books they received over the week.

I got quite a few awesome looking books over the week, thanks to Book Depository. They had a sale that I just couldn’t resist.

Bought:

The Tough Guide to Fantasyland by Diana Wynne Jones; I write fantasy, so this looks like the greatest thing in the world when it comes to worldbuilding. I really can’t wait to get into this.

Invincible Summer by Hannah Moskowitz; I’ve been seeing good reviews about this book everywhere, and I knew I have to get it.

The Girl with Glass Feet by Ali Shaw; Does this not sound like an amazing book? The premise is just beautiful. I’m expecting marvelous things from this book.

The History of Love by Nicole Krauss; This may sound pretentious, but I love literary fiction. I love the directions they take, and what they do with words, because sometimes it’s not what one expects. I like unpredictability.

Beauty Queens by Libba Bray; Miss America Pageants crossed with Lord of the Flies/Lost? Oh man, what could be better? So excited for this.

Entwinedby Heather Dixon; I love me some good fairytale retellings, and I’ll do anything to get my hands on them. Plus, look at the cover, it is gorgeous. I’m a sucker for gorgeous covers.

The Clockwork Three by Matthew J. Kirby; I’ve been eying this book for quite some time. Steampunk = love. How could I resist?

The Kneebone Boy by Ellen Potter; Man, this just looks so deliciously creepy, I so can’t wait to read this.

Library:

The Duke and I by Julia Quinn; I’d been recommended this by a few close friends, and I do love a well-written historical romance.

Fruits Basket, #4 by Natsuki Takayo; I own the first 3 in this series, and really love this series. It’s cute and adorable.

How to Train Your Dragon by Cressida Cowell; I saw the movie, and I loved it. Hoping the book will be as cute and awesome as the movie.

The Struggle by L.J. Smith; After reading the first book, I concluded that the TV series is a million times better than the books, but I still want to finish the series, or at least see how far I can go.

Exile by Rebecca Lim; I read (and really liked) the first book. You can find the review for it here. Plus, it’s a book by an Aussie writer! There’s not nearly enough Aussie authors.

Enticed by Jessica Shirvington; Another sequel to a great book written by an Aussie author! You can check out the review I wrote to the first book, Embrace, here.

Fables: Storybook Love by Bill Willingham; This is the third volume in the Fables series, and I just love it! It’s an awesome twist on fairytales, and I just love it.

Fable & Reflections by Neil Gaiman; The 6th volume of the Sandman series, and I’m super excited to read this. 😀

What did you guys get this week? Feel free to leave a link in the comments section. 🙂

14 Comments

  1. mfay2 said,

    Great books! I saw Beauty Queens “in person” and I was surprised to see that it was such a tick book!

    My IMM: http://bit.ly/mtXCSa

  2. The Book Wurrm said,

    Gorgeous books. Have fun reading them!

  3. thereadingdate said,

    Awesome books! I’m reading Beauty Queens now – it’s so funny and sarcastic.
    All of your books sound marvelous. Enjoy!

  4. Carrie at In the Hammock Blog said,

    I really want to read beauty queens! i’ve heard great things!

    Here’s my IMM

  5. Sas (Tea Mouse) said,

    Wow, you got some awesome books! I recently read and enjoyed Beauty Queens, I hope you like it too!
    I write fantasy as well, and I’ve been eyeing off DWJ’s book for a while now… maybe I should just buy it!

    I also just discovered your blog, and I really like it! I’ll be back, as they say.

    My IMM: http://tinyurl.com/3kbbsfm

  6. Stephanie said,

    Great haul! I’ve been really curious about the Jessica Shirvington series since I saw it on a friend’s blog, but unfortunately it’s not available here in the U.S. SADNESS. Happy reading!

    Stephanie @ Poetry to Prose

  7. Holly said,

    I’m about to read Beauty Queens, looks good!

  8. Glaiza said,

    Woah. Book Envy.

  9. Greta at PW said,

    WOW!! Loads and loads!

    I’m jealous though 😉 YOu got Entwined! I heard that is really good!

    Happy reading!

    Paranormal Wastelands’ IMM:
    http://paranormalwastelands.blogspot.com/2011/06/in-my-mailbox.html

  10. Lizzy said,

    I’m really intrigued by Beauty Queens, I’ve been seeing it pop up quite a bit lately. Hope you enjoy your books!

  11. Crystal said,

    Wow that is a lot of book! I love Libba Bray and I can’t wait to read Beauty Queens! Hope you enjoy the rest of your books 🙂

    Crystal @ Elegantly Bound Books

  12. AlisonCanRead said,

    Yay for Fruits Basket! I loved them. I want to read Beauty Queens too.
    My IMM

  13. Faye said,

    I know that a lot of people are showcasing the books they got from BEA but I’m jealous across the board haha. I’m dieing for half of these titles! I didn’t get to BEA this year so I’m hoping to go next year!

    My IMM:
    http://faybaysbooks.blogspot.com/

  14. lisa said,

    I really enjoyed all of the Vampire Diaries series! (and the shows are pretty awesome too!) I’ve been seeing Beauty Queens around A LOT, I can’t wait to see what everyone thinks about it(:

    Awesome books, and happy reading!

    Lisa
    Make sure to stop by my blog and check out my 50 Follower Giveaway!:D
    http://turningpages94.blogspot.com/2011/05/50-follower-giveaway.html

Leave a Reply

