In My Mailbox #9

May 30, 2011 at 1:17 am (In My Mailbox, Meme) (, , , , , , )

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi over at The Story Siren where bloggers showcase the books they received over the week.

I’ve been a bit absent over the last few days. andย  really apologise for it. Life has been getting in the way of reading and talking about reading, and I’ve had next to no time to myself. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
But never fear, I’m back for now, and promise a lot of posts in the next few days. ๐Ÿ™‚

Bought

I stopped by a Borders that was closing down, and to my surprise, they had some pretty awesome sales. Each book was $2, unless you bought more than 10, and then they’re $1 each. How awesome is that? So I ended up getting 13 books, which would have cost me $249, all for just $13! So so so epic.

Anyways, here are the books:

Bloodsong by Melvin Burgess; I read and reread this book often when I was younger. And I’ve had a hard time finding this in stores, so I was extremely lucky to find it.

Pretty Monsters by Kelly Link; This looks so cool, an anthology of creepy, weird stories. I think I’m growing quite fond of short stories.

Darkwater by Georgia Blain; The premise to this is just fantastic. I love stories that have a mystery that happened several years before. And the cover is just wonderful.

Wildwood Dancing by Juliet Marrilier; I almost died when I saw this for $1. I love this book, and I love Juliet Marrilier. She’s a master with words. If you haven’t read it–or her other work–then I totally recommend that you do so.

Siren by Tricia Rayburn; Yeah, I got this book from the library last week, but yay, now I finally have it.

Shade by Jerri Smith-Ready; I’ve heard SO MANY good things about this book, and the sequel which recently came out. I am so ecited to finally have my hands on this book, and to finally read it.

Love is Hell by Marr / Westerfeld / Larableister / Zevin / Stolarz; I’d read a few other books in this series of anthologies, and found quite a few gems. Can’t wait to read & review this one.

Vacations from Hell by Bray / Clare / Gray / Johnson / Mylnowski; I’ve read this once before, and quite liked most of the stories in this part, so I’m really glad to have found it.

Love is the Higher Law by David Levitahn; I’d read a few of Levithans colabs with Rachel Cohn, and quite liked them. I’d been wanting to get one of his solo works for a while now. So yay. ๐Ÿ™‚

My Sowrdhand is Singing by Marcus Sedgewick; Oooh, a thrilling vampire story! This excites me. I’m so sick to death of all these romanticised vamps, so this looks like the book for me.

X-isle by Steve Aguarde; Expensive hardcover for just $1? Hell yeah! I hardly know what it’s about, but it looks cool.

Behemoth by Scott Westerfeld; I love this series so much, but the kid on the cover has always made me wary of spending $30 on it. Yay for Borders!

Self-Editing for Fiction Writers by Renni Browne & Dave King; I love nonfiction about writing, and I’m in the middle of editing a novel, so I need all the help I can get. (Bought from The Book Depository)

Dreamfever by Karen Marie Moning; I saw this, and knew that I just had to get it. I love the series so much.

Library:

Low Red Moon by Ivy Devlin; The cover looks really good, and it sounds interesting. Can’t wait to read it.

Chime by Franny Billingsley; I’ve been wanting to read this book for AGES. The cover is so pretty, and the story sounds AMAZING.

Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch; This looks like a really cool mystery. And it’s got WIZARDS. Hell yeah!

Lips Touch: Three Times by Laini Taylor & Jim Di Bartolo; I’d heard nothing but great things about this book. I absolutely can’t wait to read this book. *so excited*

Lights out in Wonderland by D.B.C. Pierre; I have been seeing this book everywhere lately, and I guess it’s the next big thing in literary fiction. I wanted to see what the fuss was all about.

So, those are my books for this week. What did you guys get? Feel free to leave your links in the comments section. ๐Ÿ™‚

19 Comments

  1. Bibliosaurus Text said,

    Wow, what a great bunch of books this week! And you really can’t beat books at $1 a piece. I hadn’t heard of Lights Out in Wonderland or Rivers of London, but they have me intrigued. Thanks for sharing!

  2. AtenRa said,

    SHADE OMG you’ll love it!!!!
    As for DreamFever… no comment!I completely adore this series!
    Enjoy ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Hannah (Paperback Treasures) said,

    Thanks for commenting on my IMM (:

    I’m jealous – I want books for $1 too! I’ve heard great things about Shade and Behemoth. Happy reading!

  4. thereadingdate said,

    You found great deals at Borders! I keep going too early when the books aren’t heavily discounted, and then I try again and the store has already closed. You have had much better luck! I think you will enjoy Shade and Chime. Fab books!

  5. Alexia561 said,

    You found some really great deals, as you can’t beat dollar books! Hope you love Shade, as I love Jeri! Enjoy all your new books!

  6. Helena said,

    1 buck each! God, I’m jealous. Why are there no closing Borders in Sweden? Shade is on my TBR pile; I’ve heard great things about it!

  7. The Book Wurrm said,

    This is an awesome, awesome haul. I’m so jealous. But in a totally good way. Haha.

  8. My keeper shelf said,

    wow thats a massive haul! I love the Fever series by Karen Marie Moning it is one of my all time favs. Happy reading.

  9. Krystle said,

    Freaking awesome! Bloodsong is actually the sequel, O_O. I actually prefer the first book a lot more. It’s one of my favorite books of all time. Bloodtide, ftw! I hope I can find Borders around here. >_>.

  10. Lily said,

    Wow full mailbox this week! Siren looks good, it’s been on my wish list for a while.

    My mailbox is posted as well. http://moiraethefatesbookreviews.blogspot.com/

  11. LoChase said,

    Wow, that was an awesome haul! There have been three Borders that have closed in my area and I always missed the last days of the sale when everything was really cheap! So not cool haha. And I’ve been wanting to read Siren and Shade so I can’t wait to see what you think of them! Great haul and happy reading! Thanks for stopping by ๐Ÿ˜‰

    ~Loren
    My IMM

  12. Misty said,

    Wow, MAJOR haul! I’m so jealous of people who have closing Borders near them, even though I feel bad they’re closing.

  13. Library of the Lost said,

    Great haul this week! My borders didn’t have anything nearly as good ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  14. Gaby said,

    Wow, so cool! I love to buy book when they are so cheap xD

    Happy reading!

  15. Mia said,

    WHOAA! Awesome haul! I hope you enjoy reading them! ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. The Slowest Bookworm said,

    Wow, what an epic haul! Great bargains, but so sad to see Borders go.

  17. Jenny said,

    Oh, I love Juliet Marillier! I love her Sevenwaters books. Her writing is so enchanting.

  18. Jodie said,

    Some great books, Siren sounds good!

  19. bookchilla said,

    i want to read Chime too! here’s my IMM.

    http://bookchilla.wordpress.com/2011/05/31/in-my-mailbox-1/

Leave a Reply

