In My Mailbox #8

May 22, 2011 at 9:35 pm (Australian, In My Mailbox, Meme) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , )

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi over at The Story Siren where bloggers showcase the books they received over the week.

I got a lot of books this week. I managed to find a Borders that was closing down, so everything was 60% off. Then, my library managed to miraculously procure heaps of books. AND THEN, I decided to buy some cheap ebooks on my Kindle.

Bought

From top to bottom:

Snow by Tracy Lynn; I love the Once Upon a Time series. And this has to be one of my favourites. It has slight traces of steam/magicpunk, and it stays rather true to the story. And, thanks to the Borders sale, it was only $4. How could I possibly resist a book so cheap? Even better, I had a very had time finding the books from this series in Australia,so, I would have gotten this book even if it weren’t on sale.
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

Ice by Sarah Beth Durst; I read this book ages ago, borrowed from the library, and loved it. (In fact, you can find my review for it here), so when I saw it on sale at Borders for $8, I had to buy it.
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

Basilisk by N.M. Browne; I remember reading this book years ago, and loving it, so I decided to get it. It was cheap, so why not?
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

–Β  Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink; This book has caught my eye from the moment it arrived here in Australia, but for some reason, I’d been very hesitant in getting it. I love the cover, it has these shiny silver patterns that give it this weird feeling.
Find it on: Goodreads / Book DepositoryΒ  / Amazon
(if you get it from The Book Depository now, you get to save almost 60%! It’s not even $5 in AUS currency)

Guardian of the Gate by Michelle Zink; I also got the second book in the Prophecy of the Sisters trilogy, because it was there and it was cheap.
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

Fury by Shirley Marr; I’d constantly see this book in bookstores, and was always intrigued by it, but never went ahead and bought it. It looks like a really interesting book, and I love the covers. Also, at the beginning of each chapter, there’s a small picture of a mask, and I just love the concept of that. It makes me wonder about the relevance to the story.
Find it on: Goodreads
(Because it’s an Australian book, I’ve had trouble finding it online; it doesn’t exist in Amazon, and it’s unavailable on Book Depository. So if you’re interested in getting a copy of this book, you might have to search hard, or get a friend in Australia to supply you with a copy)

The Black Swan by Mercedes Lackey; This looks awesome. The cover is amazing, and it’s a retelling, which I’m sure all of you know by now that they’re my favourite kind of story. I can’t wait to start reading this!
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

Gwenhwyfar by Mercedes Lackey; Another Mercedes Lackey book that looks awesome. I think it’s about time I read some of her stuff.
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

Masques by Patricia Briggs; This book looks cool as. Fantasy with werewolves. Can’t wait to get this book started.
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

–Β  Wolfsbane by Patricia Briggs; The sequel to Masques, because I get addicted to series far too easily.
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

The Saga of the Renunciates by Marion Bradley Zimmer; I love sci-fi, and apparently this has LGBT characters, which is fairly cool. Plus, it’s so big, that it kind of makes me excited. When it comes to books, size does matter. ;P
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

Heritage and Exile by Marion Bradley Zimmer; A big book for a low price. This is the kind of thing I live for. πŸ™‚
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

Library:

Not only did I go overboard with books from Borders, I went nuts in the library.

Falling Under by Gwen Hayes; With the recent influx of Greek retellings in YA, I supposed that I should check out a few of the newcomers. The cover is absolutely gorgeous, and the premise actually sounds pretty good.
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

How NOT to Write a Novel by Sandra Newman & Howard Mittelmark; I love books about how to write, and this looks like it’d be a great, funny way to learn how not to write.
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

Thyla by Kate Gordon; This book is about a girl who’s found in the bush with no memory whatsoever. Plus, it’s set in Australia, and I’m a fan of those.
Find it on: Goodreads / Amazon (kindle edition)

Siren by Tricia Rayburn; So, I’ve been eyeing this book for months. Mermaids? Awesome as! Dark, mysterious cover? Heck yeah! I can’t wait to read this.
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

Bleeding Violet by Dia Reeves; I’d heard a lot of good things about this book, and it’s finally out in Australia, so as soon as I saw this, I just had to grab it.
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

Mice Gordon Reece; Wow, this looks awesome. A thriller that features what looks like a strong relationship between a girl and her mother.
Find it on: Goodreads / Amazon

The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan; The format of this book just looks amazing. It’s all set like a real dictionary, with words that are relevant to the story. I’d like to see how it pans out.
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

Son of the Shadows by Juliet Marillier; I read the first book of this series, Daughter of the Forest, and absolutely loved it.
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

The Search for WondLa by Tony Diterlizzi; This is a Middle Grade sci-fi/fantasy book with such wonderful pictures. I really can’t wait to get into this.
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

Cold Magic by Kate Elliot; So, I’d heard a whole heap of good things about this book. Plus, it looks like it’s a steampunk, and I love those with all my heart.
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

The Devil Wears Plaid by Teresa Medeiros; I really like historical romances sometimes. And this one sounds rather exciting.
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

The Vampire Diaries: The Awakening by L.J. Smith; So, I’d recently been watching the TV series, and am really loving it. I figured I might as well read the book series.
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

Marked by P.C. & Kristin Cast; I’ve been hearing a lot about this series, so I guess I should see what the fuss is all about.
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon
(You can get Marked on Book Depository with 60% off, which is a great deal)

E-Books

Gone, Gone, Gone by Hannah Moskowitz; I got this from Simon & Schuster’s Galley Grab.
Find it on:Goodreads

Blood Red Road by Moira Young; Also from S&S, I’ve heard a lot of great things about this book, so I’m excited to finally read it.
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

The Witches of Santa Anna: The Complete Set by Lauren Barnholdt & Aaron Gorvine; I got this, the first 7 books in this series off Amazon for 99cents. So, if you want seven books for a dollar, I’d recommend that you go get it now, before the offer no longer stands.
Find it on: Goodreads / Amazon (Kindle)

The Dark Wife by Sarah Diemer; I’ve been hearing a lot of buzz about this book, a retelling of The Persephone & Hades myth, but with a twist: Hades is a woman. I can’t wait to read it.
Find it on: Goodreads / Amazon

So, that’s my haul for the week. Um, a lot, eh? *laughs nervously*

What did you guys get in your mailbox during the week? Feel free to share your links in the comments. πŸ™‚

23 Comments

  1. Heather said,

    *dies of book jealousy*
    How do you even decide where to START? :O

    • nlmars said,

      well, library books are my highest priority, and once I’m done with those, I go “eeny meeny miney mo” πŸ˜›

  2. Jacinda @ The Reading Housewives said,

    I loved Bleeding Violet! I bought The Witches of Santa Anna a few weeks back! πŸ™‚ Great books!

  3. Kate said,

    So many books!

    I’ve heard a lot of good things about Falling Under, Blood Red Road and Siren

    I think I might check out How Not to Write a Novel (:

    Enjoy your many many books

  4. Hannah (Paperback Treasures) said,

    Thanks for commenting on my IMM!

    Wow, you got loads of great books this week! I really want to read Gone, Gone, Gone, The Lovers’ Dictionary and Bleeding Violet! Hope you enjoy all of them!

  5. Tina said,

    Wow, you have a LOT! πŸ™‚ I really wish we have good libraries here — it would probably reduce my book spending significantly. Great stash! πŸ™‚

  6. Kristina said,

    Great books this week! I just finished Blood Red Road and loved it! I hope you enjoy it too. I also read The Lover’s Dictionary. It was really great and different then anything else I had read.

    Enjoy your new books!

    Kristina

  7. Amber Griffiths said,

    Fantastic haul! A lot of these have been on my wishlist for ages, so I’m really jealous that you have them, haha. I received Blood Red Road too, I can’t wait to get started!

    Enjoy!
    Books of Amber

  8. Katie said,

    Hey, amazing haul! I ordered Falling Under as well and I want to get Bleeding Violet, too. I loved Marked and the other books of the Vampyr series. I hope you enjoy your books c:

    Happy reading!

  9. reutreads said,

    Wow, amazing stash!

    The Vampire Diaries series started out very good, but I think that after the whole Twilight scenario, L.J. Smith decided to write more books, and then it became slightly cliche.

    Feel free to check out my IMM here: http://reutreads.wordpress.com/2011/05/22/in-my-mailbox-3/

    Happy reading!

  10. Helena said,

    My oh my! That’s a lot of books. Where to start?!

  11. Lauren said,

    What!! You got soo many good ones. When I heard a lot of the Borders stores were closing, I found mine wasn’t. Gotta admit, I was a little disappointed πŸ˜€
    I can’t believe you got books for $4. Of course you had to buy it !!
    I can’t wait to see your reviews of Falling Under & Siren; they’ve been on my to-read list for a long time!
    The Lover’s Dictionary sounds really cool! You got an amazing haul this week! Happy reading:D

  12. Samita @ Book Purring said,

    I love how worn the books on the Vampire Diaries set look ❀ Happy reading Thanks for stopping by my blog πŸ™‚

  13. Mia said,

    WOW.A fab mailbox! They all seem great! Happy reading πŸ™‚
    Check out what’s In My Mailbox

    Mia @ Gripped into Books

  14. Christy@TheReaderBee said,

    Wow! That’s a lot of books!! I see quite a few that are on my reading list! I hope you enjoy them. πŸ™‚

  15. Devan @ Book Strings said,

    What a great lot of books! I don’t even know where I would start. πŸ™‚ Happy Reading

  16. The Book Wurrm said,

    You got some awesome books this time round! And dude, you got Cold Magic! It’s an awesome, awesome, AWESOME read. I think so anyway.

  17. thereadingdate said,

    Lovely book haul! Nice bargains at Borders and great finds at the library. Enjoy all your awesome books!

  18. lisa said,

    oooh Siren! i want to read that one. you have a lot of happy reading ahead of you! πŸ™‚

  19. Brodie said,

    Ha, yes, you sure did get a lot this week!! πŸ˜€ I LOVE Falling Under. I’ve read a few mixed reviews but I totally fell under it’s spell. Can’t wait for the sequel. Oooh jealous of Fury (shame on me considering I actually LIVE in Australia!) and Ice – really want to read those two.

    ENJOY! πŸ™‚

  20. Loren Chase said,

    Aaah! This haul is absolutely amazing! Crazy jealous! Lol. I really loved Ice! I have in on my Kindle and it was absolutely amazing, it was a great quick read! And I can’t even begin about the other books! I’m really looking forward to reading Blood Red Road and I can’t wait to get my hands on Falling Under! Hope you have a wonderful week! Happy Reading! πŸ˜‰

    ~Loren

  21. Kristin @ Beneath Shining Stars said,

    Ah! It looks like you’ve had an AMAZING book week! I hope you like Prophecy of the Sisters and Guardian of the Gate–as well as Falling Under which I personally LOVED. Happy reading! πŸ˜€

  22. Crystal said,

    Wow! Thats a lot of book! I love Siren and I really want to read Falling Under! I’ve also heard the Prophesy of the Sisters books are pretty amazing. Thanks for stopping by my blog πŸ™‚

    Crystal @ Elegantly Bound Books

Leave a Reply

