In My Mailbox #6 – The late edition

May 10, 2011 at 2:37 pm (In My Mailbox, Meme) (, , , , , , )

So, I’ve been a bit under the weather these last few days after going to a concert on Friday night. I feel like I’ve only just recovered, and it’s already Tuesday. Whew.

Anyway, In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi over at The Story Siren where bloggers showcase the books they received over the week.

I got a few cool books last week, both from the library and bought. Here they are:

Bought:

Wood Angel by Erin Bow; This book is also known as Plain Kate in the US. But honestly, even though you can’t really see it in the picture, this cover is so much beautifuller than the US cover. It sparkles and shines and has little sparkling lights dancing around the girl. I really can’t wait to read this book; I’ve heard so many fantastic things about it. (I got this from The Book Depository)
Find it on:Ā  Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

Misguided Angel by Melissa de la Cruz; I have the first 4 books in the series, and I just can’t have an incomplete series, so I had to get this. Though, I wont lie, I do quite enjoy this series. (I got this from The Book Depository)
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

Dead Reckoning by Charlaine Harris; Man, I can’t tell you how excited I was for this book. I sort of love the Sookie Stackhouse series, even though they’re hardly written well, and the plot is sometimes all over the place. But damn, it’s addictive. I’m hoping to read through the entire series again later this year. (Bought from Dymocks)
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

Library:

Dreamfever by Karen Marie Moning; OMFG, I just love this series. If you haven’t read it yet, then you really should. It’s ridiculously addictive. Plus, the last book ended on a massive cliffhanger, so I just NEED to know what the heck happens next.
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

Shadowfever by Karen Marie Moning; THE LAST BOOK IN THE SERIES OMGOMGOMG. Like I said above, I love this series. I’m planning on buying all the books in the near future. It’s definitely good enough for a reread.
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

Earl of Darkness by Alix Rickloff; Man, this book just looks deliciously good. Regency smut combined with paranormal smut? My favourite!
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong; This book looks cool, and I’m in the mood for some good old paranormals right now.
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

Moon Called by Patricia Briggs; I’ve been hearing good things about this series, and since I can’t resist paranormals at the moment, I snatched this up.
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

The Fairies in Tradition and Literature by Katharine Briggs; I love me some non-fiction, especially if it’s about fairies.Ā  I like to think of this as research for future projects.
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

The Hollow by Jessica Verday; After the massive scandal in the publishing world concerning Ms Verday and a certain anthology, I decided to go check out her books.
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

The Poison Throne by Celine Kiernan; Now, this looks like my kind of book. It’s set in a fantasy Medieval Europe, and has romance and adventure and a cat, according to the blurb on the back. CANNOT WAIT. šŸ˜€
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

Dreamwalker by Isobelle Carmody & Steven Woolman; Man, I remember reading this book a million times as a kid. Big mistake, since the story and artwork are just creepy as fuck. I still have nightmares about the sorceress. *shudder* But, it’s so good and worth a reread. I definitely recommend it.
Find it on: Goodreads / Amazon

So, what did you guys get this week? Feel free to leave a link in the comment section. šŸ™‚

4 Comments

  1. The Book Wurrm said,

    Okay let’s see. Plain Kate is totally one of the most beautiful things I have read. Like, totally. Fever series is totally a guilty pleasure. Patricia Briggs remains awesome. And The Poison Throne is SERIOUSLY BRILLIANT. It’s not as fantasy oriented but it’s writing is totally superb. I think you’ll like it. Enjoy the books!

    • nlmars said,

      Gah, you’re making me so excited to read these books now! *twitches* *must wait until I finish the books that are already on the book pile*

      I think the book I’m most excited to read is Plain Kate. I’ve heard nothing but spectacular reviews about it, which seems to be a first in the YA world where there are always going to be haters.

  2. thereadingdate said,

    What a great assortment of books you have here! I need to start the Fever series sometime- so far I only have the first book. Wood Angel/ Plain Kate sounds amazing and I love the cover! Looking forward to hearing what you think of Misguided Angel.
    Happy reading!

    • nlmars said,

      Oooh, I really must urge you to start reading the Fever series. They’re ridiculously amazing and addictive. The quality of the writing isn’t too great, but the action and suspense and sexual tension makes up for that! šŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

