In My Mailbox #5

May 1, 2011 at 3:55 pm (In My Mailbox, Meme)

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi over at The Story Siren where bloggers showcase the books they received over the week.

This week, I got a lot of books. I’m kind of surprised at how many I have now. :-/

Library:

Knife by R.J. Anderson; Apparently, this book is called Faery Rebels in the US, which is interesting. I personally prefer the AUS copy of this book. The cover is prettier. And omg, fairies! *flails* I absolutely love fairies.
Find it on: GoodReads / Book Depository / Amazon

Blood Ninja by Nick Lake; So… vampire ninjas. Not sure how I feel about this, but it’s worth a shot.
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

The Espressologist by Kristina Springer; I’ve already read this book before, but I loved it so much that I just needed to reread it. Hopefully, I’ll write a gushing review about it. 😀
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

Now and Zen by Linda Gerber; From what I can understand, this book (and the series) are sort of like Anna and the French Kiss in the way that there’s a foreign exchange student and stuff happens and she learns about the new culture. Now, I’ve always wished I could have been a foreign exchange student, or even just gone on holiday to different places, so these kind of books are my guilty pleasure. Hopefully, this one will be good.

A Taste of True Blood edited by Leah Wilson; Another one of my guilty pleasures is True Blood, and with the release of the 11th Sookie Stackhouse book, I decided to get this out.
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

The Bride’s Farewell by Meg Rosoff; This looks like a nice fantasy. I’ve been seeing it around a lot lately, so I was really tempted to buy it all the time.
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

The Doll’s House by Neil Gaiman; I read and loved the first volume of this series, Preludes and Nocturnes, and was so excited to get my hands on this installment.
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

Sin City: The Hard Goodbye by Frank Millier; I’ve been on a graphic novel binge for the last couple of weeks, and I just love the movie, so I decided to check this out.
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

The Dark and Hollow Places by Carrie Ryan; Can I just have a moment to squeal for this books’ release and the fact that I got a copy of it from the library so quickly? *squeal* I’m so excited for this book, especially after that horrible cliffhanger at the end of Dead-Tossed Waves, and those loose plot-holes that need to be filled in.
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

Bought:

I got all of these books off of The Book Depository

Paper Towns by John Green; I’ve been watching far too many VlogBrothers videos lately, so I decided that I need some of John Green’s books.
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green & David Levithan; I’d read a few of David Levithan’s collaborative works and enjoyed them (with the exception of Naomi & Eli’s No Kiss List, which I dropped after 30-odd pages), and as I said above, I think I need some of John Green’s books.
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

–  Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman; So, I’d been told by everyone that I should really read this book. I’d never read any of Pratchett’s works before (with the vast amount of books in the Discworld series, I’m a bit intimidated) but I love Neil Gaiman so so so much. American Gods is one of my favourite books ever.
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

No Plot? No Problem! by Chris Baty; I’ve gotten rather addicted to books on writing, and since I’m planning on doing NaNoWriMo this year (again), I should probably read this handy dandy guide.
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon / The official NaNoWriMo merch store (if you get it from the merch store, you can get it autographed, which is pretty fantastic)

Eats, Shoots & Leaves by Lynne Truss; The joke behind this book just gets me every time, and since it’s a writing book (which a lot of people have recommended) I decided to get it.
Find it on: Goodreads / Book Depository / Amazon

So, that’s my haul for the week. Did you guys get anything in your mailbox? Feel free to leave your links in the comments!

10 Comments

  1. Aleetha said,

    YAY for Good Omens. I love that book. I read the translation one. I hope you also enjoy it as well.

    Your library got amazing collection. I wish my local library also update theirs.

    I’d love to read The Espressologist.

    Happy reading!

    It’s all about Books

    • nlmars said,

      Thanks for commenting!
      I cant wait to read Good Omens! 😀
      My library usually don’t have such a great selection, but lately, I’ve been lucky.

  2. Mia said,

    A great pile of books! They all seem great. I can’t wait to read Knife 🙂
    Check out what’s In My Mailbox

    Mia @GrippedintoBooks

  3. The Book Wurrm said,

    You go some aweeesome books this week, dude. I’m curious to see what you think of the Espressologist. Have fun reading!

    • nlmars said,

      I read The Espressologist last year, and loved it. I’m doing a quick reread so I can review it. 😀

  4. The Book Mystress said,

    What a lovely stack of books you have The Dark and Hollow Places has the best cover, i hope you enjoy reading these.

    The Book Mystress, xx

    • nlmars said,

      Thank you!
      Oh yes, I love the cover. It’s so dark and spooky.

  5. vampira2468 said,

    Enjoy the John Green books. He is such a great writer

    • nlmars said,

      Thank you!
      I’ve heard so many good things about John Green’s books. I really can’t wait to read them. 😀

Leave a Reply

