In My Mailbox #2

April 10, 2011 at 8:20 am (In My Mailbox, Meme) (, , , )

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi over at The Story Siren where bloggers showcase the books they received over the week.

Okay, to start off, when I started preparing this post on Wednesday, I hadn’t expected there to be so many books. Then Supanova happened, and I got a little over-excited, and as a result, probably won’t be spending any more money for a long time.

Bought:


Eona by Alison Goodman; Okay, I’m super excited to read this book. I’ve been waiting all year to finally get my hands on it, so imagine my surprise when the bookstore had it. I had thought it came out on April 19th (that’s when it comes out in the US); even on Goodreads, it says that the AUS copy releases then. So yay! I get to read it before everyone else. I’ll post a review up as soon as I read it.

Obernewetyn by Isobelle Carmody; I got this while in Supanova. Got it signed. Am a very content girl.

Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb; Another book I got signed at Supanova.

Burn Bright by Marianne de Pierres; And yet another signed copy from Supanova. Woot!!

Entangled by Cat Clarke; The cover is so pretty in a simple way, and the premise is really interesting and mysterious. Plus, it has a pretty high rating on Goodreads, so I’m hoping it’ll live up to my expectations. Can’t wait to start reading this one!

Bones of Faerie by Janni Lee Simmer; Angus & Robertson were having a 50% off sale on some of their books, so I decided to take advantage of that. I plan on visiting more A&R’s that are closing down soon. Plus: FAERIES! WOOT! Gotta love ’em.

The Stand by Stephen King; I’m a massive King fan, so when I saw this discounted to half price, I just had to grab it. 😀

Library:

Daughter of the Forest by Juliet Marillier; I had been told by practically everyone to read this. About 100 pages in, and I’m absolutely loving it. I’m thinking I might just buy the book and the rest of the series.

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher; This might sound weird, but I love reading stories about people who are suicidal. It shows this new perspective. Even better if they don’t actually commit suicide, but… *shrugs* I look forward to reading this a lot.

Delirium by Lauren Oliver; Now, I loved Oliver’s first novel, Before I Fall, but I’ve heard mixed reviews on this one. I’ve heard that this seems like one of those “on the bandwagon” kind of things. Here’s hoping that they’re all wrong *fingers crossed*

Firelight by Sophie Jordan; I picked this book up because I’d heard excellent things about it (plus it has dragons!), and I saw it on the library’s website. Now, this isn’t released in Australia, so I’m baffled as to why my library has it, but oh well!

Bloodfever by Karen Marie Moning; The first in the series felt mediocre, but good enough for me to want to read the rest of the series.

Faefever by Karen Marie Moning; what I said above. 😛
And that’s my IMM for this week. What have all you guys gotten?

Leave a Reply

