In My Mailbox #1

April 3, 2011 at 12:09 pm (In My Mailbox, Meme) (, , , , , )

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi at The Story Siren.

So, in the last week or so, I’ve gotten a whole bunch of new books to read, which has gotten me really giddy.

You Wish by Mandy Hubbard; I’d been wanting to read this book for ages, plus, I really needed a book starting with the letter ‘Y’ for my ABC challenge, so I thought, why not?

As You Wish by Jackson Pearce; I wanted a book that had a mythical creature that wasn’t really touched upon too often. Genies, yay!

Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott; I’ve realised that I’ve gotten to the point in my writing obsession that I need to read books about writing.

-Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro; I wanted to read this book before I see the movie. I’ve heard a lot of good things about this one, so I’m fairly excited.

Artichoke’s Heart by Suzanne Supplee;  The themes in this book are interesting: a girl wants to lose weight, and she also has to deal with other issues.

Wolfborn by Sue Bursztynski; I haven’t heard much about this one, to be honest, but it seems fairly interesting. I know, I know, werewolves are overdone, but I’d like to see how the author approaches it. Also, it’s an Australian book, and I’m thinking that I should try to showcase a few novels from down-under, since they very rarely get any publicity anywhere else.

The Gates by John Connolly; I absolutely loved The Book of Lost Things, so I really want to read this. I have high expectations from this man, now.

The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff; I’ve heard mixed reviews from people. Some have told me that I’d love it, others have warned me that it will make my eyes burn out. I guess I’ll have to see for myself.

~You Wish to Never Let Me Go were obtained from the Book Depository (I had a coupon!) and the last four books, I received from the library.

That’s it for this week, folks! What did you guys get in your mailbox this week?

Leave a Reply

